WGSS home

Award-Winning and Notable Titles

A collection of links to websites that describe award-winning books in women and gender studies.

Amelia Bloomer Project: Since 2002, the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table (ALA) has produced a list of approximately 30 books with feminist content for young readers.

Barbara Dobkin Award: National Jewish Book Award for Women’s Studies

Berkshire Conference Prizes: Prizes are for a first book written on women’s history and for an article in any field of history published by a woman.

Diana Forsythe Prize: Established in 1999 to honor the best book or series of publications in honor of Diana Forsythe’s feminist anthropological research on work, science and (bio)technology.

Emily Toth Award for the Best Single Work by One or More Authors in Women’s Issues in Popular and American Culture in a specific year
Susan Koppelman Award for the Best Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited book in Feminist Studies in Popular and American Culture in a specific year
Both of these awards are given by the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association. To view past winners, hover your mouse over the Awards link at the top of the page. http://pcaaca.org/literary-and-film-awards/

Feminist Authors: List by the Feminist Majority Foundation

Heldt Award: Presented by the Association of Women in Slavic Studies, this is awarded each year for the best book by a woman, best book on women’s studies, and best article, all in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian women’s studies.

James Tiptree, Jr. Award : Annual literary prize for science fiction/fantasy that explores our understanding of gender.

Jessie Bernard Award: This award, established by the American Sociological Association, is given in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It is presented for significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career. The award is open to women or men and is not restricted to sociologists.

Joan Kelly Memorial Prize: Established in 1983 by the Coordinating Council on Women in History and administered by the American Historical Association is awarded annually for the book in women's history and/or feminist theory that best reflects the high intellectual and scholarly ideals exemplified by the life and work of Joan Kelly (1928--1982).

Ruth Benedict Prize: From the Society of Lesbian and Gay Anthropologists comes the Ruth Benedict Prize, honoring excellence in a scholarly publication in anthropology dealing with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues.  Awards are listed from 1986 to the present.

Sex and Gender Section Award, American Sociological Association: Recognizes research that makes a significant contribution to the study and understanding of sex and gender. Awards both books and articles/book chapters.

Stonewall Book Award: The foremost award for lesbigay literature. Divided into fiction and non-fiction, the awards are for English language books published the year previous to the award. The award began in 1971 and continues to the present.

Victoria Schuck Award: Award for best book on women and politics begun in 1988 by the American Political Science Association.

Send comments about the Award-Winning and Notable Titles page to:

Piper Martin
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian
Wright State University

Last updated:

Piper Martin
Wright State University

Stefanie DuBose
East Carolina University, Joyner Library

Back to the WGSS Home Page.
Send comments about the WGSS website to: Carrie Dunham-LaGree.
URL: http://www.libr.org/wgss/committees/collections/awards.html
Last updated: July 18, 2013
Copyright Statement